CLIMATE BLOC ON THE TUC MARCH ON SATURDAY 20 OCTOBER…

2

For a Future That Doesn’t Cost the Earth!
Against Austerity, For Climate Justice!

We are people from many different environmental campaigns. We are joining the TUC march on 20 October to be part of a huge popular challenge to austerity and the misery and hopelessness it is creating. We will march together on the 20th to raise the crucial question of tackling climate change and reducing greenhouse gas emissions as part of A Future That Works. Dealing with these issues together is possible, necessary and desirable. The climate is changing dramatically, and we are already seeing huge impacts on food prices and energy costs.

We don’t have to choose between the climate and the economy. The climate crisis and the economic crisis have the same root causes, in an economy rigged in favour of the richest 1%. More and more people are calling for investment in jobs which reduce emissions – for example, in renewable energy, public transport, and insulating our homes, which would make a vital start in tackling both climate change and unemployment. We also need to talk about what kind of work we need for a cleaner, fairer future.

Meet 11am at St Paul’s to assemble before joining the march.

GROUPS WHICH SUPPORT THE BLOC (AS OF TODAY)

Biofuelwatch – http://www.biofuelwatch.org.uk/

Campaign Against Climate Change – http://www.campaigncc.org/

Campaign Against Climate Change Trade Union Group – One Million Climate Jobs Campaign – http://www.climate-change-jobs.org/

Climate Justice Collective – http://www.climatejusticecollective.org/

Climate Rush – http://www.climaterush.co.uk

Derby Climate Coalition

Environmental Network for Central America – http://www.enca.org.uk

Frack Off – http://www.frack-off.org.uk

Friends of the Earth – http://www.foe.co.uk

Fuel Poverty Action – http://www.fuelpovertyaction.org.uk/

Greener Jobs Alliance – http://www.ucu.org.uk/index.cfm?articleid=5269

Kick Nuclear – http://www.kicknuclear.org/

London Mining Network – http://www.londonminingnetwork.org

London Rising Tide – http://www.risingtide.org.uk/london

Occupy London Energy, Equity & Environment Working Group – https://www.facebook.com/OccupyLondonEEE

Occupy Oil – http://www.occupyoil.co.uk

People and Planet – http://www.peopleandplanet.org

SHIFT – The Alliance for Jobs and Climate – http://www.jobsandclimate.org/shifts/

Socialist Resistance – http://www.socialistresistance.org/

Stop Hinkley – http://stophinkley.org/

Stop Nuclear Power Network – http://stopnuclearpoweruk.net

Thames Valley Climate Action – http://www.tvca.ox4.org/

UK Tar Sands Network – http://www.www.no-tar-sands.org/

University and College Union – http://www.ucu.org.uk

World Development Movement – http://www.www.wdm.org.uk/

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “CLIMATE BLOC ON THE TUC MARCH ON SATURDAY 20 OCTOBER…

  1. Occupy Oil says:

    Hi,

    we will be joining the climate bloc on Saturday.

    Love and peace,

    Occupy Oil

  2. John B Davies says:

    The comment about climate jobs is very misleading. the action required to save the global climate must include very large and iommediate cuts in greenhouse gas emissions and geo-engineering in the arctic to save the arctic sea ice and also to prevent massive Methane release from Metahane hydrates in the arctic. The cuts in greenhouse gas emissions will mean a huge cut in economic activity which will only be acceptable if there is a much smaller inequality in income and wealth. We must make do with much less.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: